The ADC Theatre is one of the smallest departments of the University of Cambridge. We have no academic objective; our main aim is to provide opportunities to learn about and experience theatre.
Pravda, Spring 2015 (Photo: Johannes Hjorth)

We are a department of the University of Cambridge and the oldest University playhouse in the country. The ADC Theatre is the centre of University drama in Cambridge, led almost entirely by students with no Faculty involvement. 

We aim to provide opportunities to experience and learn about all aspects of theatre, while presenting professional standard productions. The ADC Theatre has helped to launch the careers of many theatre luminaries, including Sir Ian McKellen, Rachel Weisz and Emma Thompson.

We also present shows by local drama groups and touring companies outside of University Term, and are proud to be at the heart of Cambridge's busy amateur dramatic scene.

During University Term, we usually present two shows a night: a mainshow at 7.45pm Tuesday to Saturday, followed by a lateshow at 11.00pm.

Productions are completely student run, from actors and directors to set designers and carpenters.

Members of the CUADC and Fletcher Players sit on the Executive Committee and coordinate and encourage the majority of student activity at the Theatre.

The are six permanent staff who provide support and advice as well as running the Theatre day-to-day. To contact a member of the management team, you can email using the format: Alternatively, you can phone the administration line at 01223 359547 during office hours between 11am and 6pm.

Photo by Paul Ashley Photography

Theatre Manager

Luke Dell

Operations Manager

Olivia Wheeler

Technical Manager

Alex Bevan

Production Manager

Freya Prince

Theatre Administrator

Grace Morris

Maintenance Technician

Darren Thomas-Carr

The Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the management of the Theatre. The Committee approves the Theatre's programme, reviews financial performance, appoints the staff, and sets long term Theatre policy.

Chairman of the Executive Committee

Dr Mark Billinge

Executive Committee Members

Richard Barnes

Sarah Cain

Emma Chandler

Luke Dell

Stan Hunt

Em Sparkes

Rachelle Stretch

Jessica Taylor

David Todd-Jones

Robin Walker

Olivia Wheeler

The University Theatre Syndicate is a forum for discussion and decision about University drama in general, and sits above the Executive Committee. The Syndicate is responsible for annually reporting to the University on the financial and material status of the ADC Theatre.

The Syndicate is made up of representatives of the University, leading University drama societies, and members of the management of the ADC Theatre.

Annual Report 2022-23